Lectures

The PDF versions of my lectures are publicly viewable. The PPTX versions are behind a password protected class website. The PPTX versions are, in a word, better and allow you to view the embedded videos and animations.

If you would like access to the original PPTX versions and you are not enrolled in this course, please email me: jonf@cs.umd.edu. If you do view the PPTX versions, know that you need the proper fonts for the slides to render correctly. I tend to use Helvetica Neue Ultra Light, Segoe UI Light, Segoe UI Semibold, and Segoe Print.

Other professors/teachers: you are completely welcome to use my slides in your course; however, I would appreciate proper attribution and an email letting me know that you found them useful. :)


Week 01

Lecture 01: Design Activity, Intro to Class

Tuesday, 09/02/2014
PDF (4.3MB) | PPTX (168MB)

Lecture 02: Intro to You, Me, HCI and Design

Thursday, 09/04/2014
PDF (15.7MB) | PPTX (122MB)


Week 02

Lecture 03: Design Approaches and Understanding Users I

Tuesday, 09/09/2014
PDF (9.8MB) | PPTX (114MB)

Lecture 04: Project Teams Formed, In-Class Brainstorm

Thursday, 09/11/2014
PDF (2.04MB) | PPTX (4.15MB)


Week 03

Lecture 05: Quiz I and Interactive Shirt Demo

Tuesday, 09/16/2014
PDF (2.24MB) | PPTX (12.2MB)

Lecture 06: Understanding Users I

Thursday, 09/18/2014
PDF (5.1MB) | PPTX (97.5MB)


Week 04

Lecture 07: Prototyping I

Tuesday, 09/23/2014
PDF (2.3MB) | PPTX (5.4MB)

Lecture 08: Prototyping II

Thursday, 09/25/2014
PDF (11.4MB) | PPTX (258MB)


Week 05

Lecture 09: In-Class Presentations

Tuesday, 09/30/2014
See TA03

Lecture 10: In-Class Presentations II & Sketching/Storyboarding

Thursday, 10/02/2014
PDF (11.9MB) | PPTX (119MB)


Week 06

Lecture 11: Principles of Interaction

Tuesday, 10/07/2014
PDF (2.38MB) | PPTX (49.2MB)

Lecture 12: In-Class TA04 Design Critiques

Thursday, 10/09/2014
PDF (886KB) | PPTX (1.85MB)


Week 07

Lecture 13: Principles of Interaction II

Tuesday, 10/14/2014
PDF (9.14MB) | PPTX (176MB)

Lecture 14: Quiz 2

Thursday, 10/16/2014
No slides


Week 08

Lecture 15: Android UI Programming I

Tuesday, 10/21/2014
PDF (9.55MB) | PPTX (109MB)

Lecture 16: Android UI Programming UI II

Thursday, 10/23/2014
PDF (8.09MB) | PPTX (29.2MB) | Video Example of Creating a Custom View


Week 09

Lecture 17: Input and Interaction

Tuesday, 10/28/2014
PDF (9.55MB) | PPTX (109MB)

Lecture 18: Midterm

Thursday, 10/30/2014
No slides


Week 10

Lecture 19: Human Information Processing I

Tuesday, 11/04/2014
PDF (6.65MB) | PPTX (53.9MB)

Lecture 20: In-Class Critiques of TA06 Mid-Fi Prototypes

Thursday, 11/06/2014
No slides


Week 11

Lecture 21: Human Information Processing II

Tuesday, 11/11/2014
PDF (5.68MB) | PPTX (67.4MB)

Lecture 22: Visual Processing, Emotional Design, Aesthetics

Thursday, 11/13/2014
PDF (14.6MB) | PPTX (508MB)


Week 12

Lecture 23: Visual Processing, Emotional Design, Aesthetics II

Tuesday, 11/18/2014
PDF (7.26MB) | PPTX (628MB)

Lecture 24: Quiz 3 and In-Class Work

Thursday, 11/20/2014
No Slides


Week 13

Lecture 25: VisuaI Design: Grids and Gestalt

Tuesday, 11/25/2014
PDF (14.1MB) | PPTX (129MB)

No Class: Thanksgiving Break

Thursday, 11/27/2014


Week 14

Lecture 26: Visual Design: Color and Typography I

Tuesday, 12/02/2014
PDF (11.7MB) | PPTX (87MB)

Lecture 27: In-Class Design Critique of Final Prototypes

Tuesday, 12/04/2014
No Slides


Week 15

Lecture 28: Visual Design: Color and Typography II

Tuesday, 12/09/2014
PDF (11.7MB) | PPTX (87MB)

Lecture 29: Summative UI Evaluation

Tuesday, 12/11/2014
To be Posted